Kencil R Avis (1916 - 2008)

A photo of Kencil R Avis
Kencil R Avis
1916 - 2008
updated February 06, 2019
Kencil R Avis was born on June 6, 1916. Kencil died on January 10, 2008 at 91 years old. We know that Kencil R Avis had been residing in Jacksonville, Duval County, Florida 32205.

ADVERTISEMENT BY ANCESTRY.COM

Kencil R Avis Biography

With today's technology we are able to write and share our own history which lasts forever online. Our ancestors never had a chance to document their lives. This biography is dedicated to memorialize the life of Kencil Avis, honor his/her ancestry & genealogy, and his/her immediate Avis family.

Most Commonly Known Name

Kencil R Avis

First name

Kencil

Middle name

R

Maiden name

Unknown.

Last Name(s)

Nickname(s) or aliases

Birth

Kencil Avis was born on

Death

Kencil Avis died on

Cause of death

There is no cause of death listed for Kencil.

Burial / Funeral

Do you know the final resting place - gravesite in a cemetery or location of cremation - of Kencil R Avis?

Obituary

Unknown.

Ethnicity & Lineage

What is Kencil's ethnicity and where did their parents, grandparents & great-grandparents come from?

Nationality & Locations Lived

Unknown.

Religion

Unknown. Was Kencil a religious person?

Last Known Residence

Jacksonville, Duval County, Florida 32205

Education

Did Kencil finish grade school, get a GED, go to high school, get a college degree or masters? What schools or universities did Kencil attend?

Professions

Share what Kencil did for a living or if they had a career or profession.

Personal Life & Organizations

Share some highlights of Kencil's personal life & organizations in which they participated.

Military Service

Did Kencil serve in the military or did a war or conflict interfere with their life?

Average Age

Life Expectancy

Back to Top

Kencil R Avis Family Tree

Kencil's immediate relatives including parents, siblings, partnerships and children in the Avis family tree.

Kencil's Family

Add a parent
Add a parent
Kencil R Avis
Add a partner
Add a child
Add a partner
Add a child
Add a sibling

Friends:

Click to add friends & family.

Kencil's Family Photos

We currently do not have photos of Kencil R Avis. Below are potential family photos that share Kencil's last name or surname. Pictures really do say a thousand words. Add photos of Kencil during various points of their life

ADVERTISEMENT BY ANCESTRY.COM

Share Memories about Kencil

What do you remember about Kencil R Avis? Share your memories of special moments and stories you have heard about them. Or just leave a comment to show the world that Kencil is remembered.

Kencil Avis Obituary

This obit of Kencil R Avis is maintained by Kencil's followers. Contribute to her obituary and include details such as cemetery, burial, newspaper obituary and grave or marker inscription if available.

Kencil R Avis passed away on January 10, 2008 at age 91. Kencil was born on June 6, 1916. There is no information about Kencil's immediate family. We know that Kencil R Avis had been residing in Jacksonville, Duval County, Florida 32205.
Followers & Sources
Other Records of Kencil R Avis

1916 - 2008 World Events

Refresh this page to see various historical events that occurred during Kencil's lifetime

In 1916, in the year that Kencil R Avis was born, visiting nurse Margaret Sanger opened the first birth control clinic in the U.S. at 46 Amboy St. in Brooklyn New York. Ten days after the clinic opened, Sanger was arrested for "violating laws against giving out birth control information" which was defined as obscenity. The clinic was not handing out birth control - just information about sex and birth control methods. (The Comstock law categorized information about abortion, family planning, and contraception as “obscene”.) The clinics and organizations that Sanger established later evolved into the Planned Parenthood Federation of America.

In 1925, Kencil was only 9 years old when on November 28th, radio station WSM broadcast the Grand Ole Opry for the first time. Originally airing as “The WSM Barn Dance”, the Opry (a local term for "opera") was dedicated to honoring country music and in its history has featured the biggest stars and acts in country music.

In 1937, this person was 21 years old when on May 28th, the San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge opened to cars. Taking 5 years to build, the 4,200-foot-long suspension bridge was an engineering marvel of its time - 11 men died during construction. The "international orange" color was chosen because it resisted rust and fading. To the present, it is the symbol of the City that is known throughout the world.

In 1957, when this person was 41 years old, on September 24th, the "Little Rock Nine" (nine African-American students) entered Little Rock High School. Arkansas Gov. Orval Faubus had previously prevented the students from entering the school at the beginning of the term with the Arkansas National Guard - they blocked the door. President Eisenhower ordered federal troops - the 101st Airborne Division of the United States Army - to guard the students and allow them entry.

In 1982, by the time this person was 66 years old, on September 14th, Princess Grace of Monaco (American actress Grace Kelly), 52, died of injuries when her car plunged off a mountain road. Her 17 year old daughter, Stephanie, was also in the car and suffered serious injuries but recovered. It's believed that the accident was caused when Princess Grace, who was driving, had a mild stroke.

Other Biographies

Other Avises

Edith Avis
Dec 17, 1910 - August 1986
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Pearl T Avis
Nov 3, 1910 - Mar 13, 1999
Tampa, FL
Anna K Avis
Mar 28, 1898 - Dec 30, 2000
Melrose, FL
Fred Avis
Jan 27, 1897 - December 1978
Euclid, Ohio
Ethel Avis
Jan 11, 1895 - January 1985
Toledo, Ohio
Margaret Avis
Oct 8, 1920 - April 1987
North Royalton, Ohio
Grace Avis
Jul 7, 1885 - August 1970
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Luster Avis
Jul 13, 1904 - August 1976
San Diego, California
Marguerite Avis
Oct 7, 1908 - Aug 24, 2000
Canton, OH
Walter A Avis
Dec 10, 1906 - Oct 1, 1987
Grand Rapids, MI
David Avis
Nov 12, 1903 - April 1973
Decatur, Illinois
Roy E Avis
Oct 24, 1898 - Feb 1, 1965
Patrick C Avis
Mar 4, 1944 - Jan 10, 2011
Berwyn, IL
Archibald Avis
Mar 21, 1881 - August 1977
Redlands, California
Kenneth Avis
Aug 7, 1919 - August 1986
Marion, Illinois
Virgil Avis
Aug 15, 1903 - December 1983
Tucson, Arizona
Catherine L Avis
Jul 23, 1964 - Jul 31, 2004
Airway Heights, WA
Maura E Avis
Aug 22, 1961 - Aug 19, 2010
Georgia
Harold M Avis
Jul 11, 1927 - Dec 17, 2003
Temple, TX
Rose M Avis
Jul 21, 1926 - Sep 30, 2010
Taylorville, IL

Other Bios

Riley Pendleton
Oct 16, 1894 - November 1968
Florida
James Kelley
Nov 25, 1885 - October 1968
Columbus, Georgia
William Sikes
Dec 7, 1903 - April 1957
Farris F Branan
Jul 25, 1902 - Oct 4, 1970
Biloxi, MS
Lonnie Taylor
Jul 3, 1907 - November 1973
Florida
Wallace Herring
Mar 2, 1906 - April 1980
Miami, Florida
W C Register
Sep 19, 1920 - Sep 15, 1965
Harry Hudson
Nov 4, 1916 - April 1972
Tifton, Georgia
Dudley C Jarvis
Mar 17, 1917 - Dec 12, 1998
Pensacola, FL
Louise H Singleton
Jan 24, 1920 - Oct 1, 2004
Jacksonville, FL
Millard S Forehand
Jan 6, 1918 - Dec 20, 1987
Panama City, FL
Paul C Padgett
Nov 18, 1920 - Nov 18, 1987
Miami, FL
Billie M Pagonis
Mar 13, 1909 - Feb 26, 1988
Brunswick, GA
Roy Dickerson
Feb 28, 1891 - December 1966
Cleveland, Tennessee
Milton Foor
Aug 4, 1910 - November 1984
Jacksonville, Florida
Leila Elex
Feb 27, 1905 - February 1977
Jacksonville, Florida
Arthur B Tyner
Jan 11, 1911 - Nov 8, 1988
Jacksonville, FL
Ritadelle M Browne
Nov 19, 1912 - July 1990
Mizell Platt
Aug 21, 1920 - July 1970
James E Hurst
Nov 6, 1920 - May 1, 1991
Success Stories from Biographies like Kencil R Avis
I have to tell you a VERY special story about how AncientFaces helped to reunite our family. For 13 years, I have been searching for my grandmother's missing sister. She just disappeared from the family in the 1930s without a trace. No one ever knew where or when she died or where she was buried. My years of searching have just run into dead ends, so I had given up. Today, out-of-the-blue, a young lady called me and said that she had seen a photograph on AncientFaces and one of the women in the photo was her grandmother! Little did I know that she had left a small child behind when she died so young of TB. You can imagine our shock and excitement at finding each other and a whole new family that we never knew existed. We only live one state away from each other and very soon plan to have all family members meet to share our sides of "the story" and of course, many, many more picturesl AncientFaces...... without you, this family may never have been complete and Aunt Grace would have been lost to us forever. I hope you realize what a valuable service you provide and how grateful we are to have found you. Thank you!!!! -Lynda B.
I never knew my biological family. My family is my mother and father who raised me. But, as I got older I got curious about my heritage. It took me years of investigation to finally discover my parents’ names. Well, I get goosebumps just writing this, I have found my biological family because of AncientFaces. Yes!! I did a search for my [parents' names] and was shocked to find a photo of them on AncientFaces! I cannot tell you the feeling that came over me when I saw this photo - to see the faces of my biological parents…JUST LIKE THAT. I left a comment on the photo and you won’t believe this - the owner of the photo is MY SISTER!!! Yes, I have a LITTLE sister! It turns out my parents were too young when they had me and had to give me up. My little sister knew I existed and wanted to find me but had no way of doing it. Thanks to you I am meeting my little sister for the first time next month. GOD BLESS YOU ANCIENTFACES. -Anonymous
We have found our missing relative entirely thanks to AncientFaces. We have received a much clearer photo of Captain Grant from his Son. The picture we on AncientFaces is an old yellowed newspaper photo. I am attaching the new photo and ask that you take the old one out and put the new clear picture in its place. With our Canadian Remembrance Day here in 2 days - the timing could not be better. Thank You, AncientFaces. My long lost Aunt is now 86 years old and her Son and I are talking by phone and e-mails. Captain Grant was his Father and died in France in 1944 and is buried there. By posting pictures of the visit to his gravesite - we connected through one of his brothers. Amazing that our prayers have been answered. Thank you -Beth B.
I came home for lunch yesterday and decided to look at my email before going back to work. The weekly newsletter that I subscribe to from the Logan Family History Center had this message in it about AncientFaces. I clicked on the link and the first search I did was for Woodruff, and Mamie was the first picture that came up. I could hardly stand it. I was late getting back to work. I had to add comments and write to you. Thank you for noticing her in the store and for the website. I can't help but wonder how many other family pictures may have ended up in that store and why. I also can't help but feel that it was meant to be and that there is a purpose that this picture is coming home as you say. What are the chances of this all just happening? It's amazing that you even picked it up at the store and then went to all the extra effort to post it. It makes me feel as though you have been my friend forever. It certainly has given me a connection to you, and I have a love for what you do. I just can't tell you how excited I am. I can't even hold it in. -Cathy K., Utah
I have previously submitted several pictures of my grandfather August Zemidat. I have tried for many years to find anyone with that name, and I have searched many genealogy web sites to no avail. Recently I was contacted by someone who saw my pictures on AncientFaces who may well be a cousin. She also provided me with information that seems to indicate her grandparents were my grandfather’s siblings. Considering the many years I have been searching for the name Zemidat, I find this is absolutely amazing that I have finally found a family member. Thank you AncientFaces -Ron D.
I love AncientFaces, a while back I saw that you had labeled Garcia surname pictures. At the time I didn’t have all my family facts for my research. Anyway, I wandered into your site just to check it out AND NOW 1 YEAR LATER I received a picture from an 87 year old aunt and guess what you had this very same picture on your site!! (They were my great aunts and my great-grandmother!). Thank you… -Angela M.
I have loved AncientFaces since I first found it, it's the first thing I check when I turn on the computer. There was a time when even in the most modest households there were three cherished possessions, a family Bible. a family album and a fancy lamp. It was usual for the family to gather in the parlour, generally on Sunday and talk, tell stories of family and friends with the photos in the albums as illustration. Sadly in our modern electronic age we have fallen away from the oral tradition and interest in history has waned. I was quite shocked on the anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic to see so many comments from younger people who were surprised to learn that the Titanic wasn't just a movie. This is why AncientFaces is so important, to me it's the electronic age version of the oral tradition on a global scale and the sheer volume of people who follow, comment and contribute seems to prove the point. We are all grateful to you all for providing us with this wonderful site. - Arba M.