Updated: May 14, 2024
Delaware is known by many nicknames: The First State; The Diamond State; Blue Hen State; and Small Wonder

Delaware was the first of the original 13 states to ratify the federal Constitution. Organized into three counties—from north to south, New Castle, Kent and Sussex, all established by 1682, the population is concentrated in the north around Wilmington, where the major coastal highways and railways pass through from Pennsylvania and New Jersey on the north and east into Maryland on the south and west. The capital is Dover.

The Delaware state motto is "Liberty and Independence" and the state flower is the Peach Blossom.
Share and discover the people and places from your past